Paper, Planes & Pinot

In Other Words… Stationery, Travel, and All Else that Matters

April Goals

Routines.  All of us have them whether or not we want to admit it.  Sometimes we like our routines, and sometimes we want to change things up.  This post is about changing things up for the month of April.

One of my best friends, AMW, and I wanted to set some personal goals for ourselves for the month of April.  At this point, I am not 100% I will be able to complete my proposed goal, but I am going to try my hardest.  Later in this post AMW will be guest-blogging and talking about her goal.

I have had a Fitbit for almost a year now, and I love it.  For those of you who do not know what a Fitbit is, it is basically a pedometer on steroids.  My version of the Fitbit (the Fitbit One) counts steps, flights of stairs, calories, and miles.  It also serves as an alarm clock and monitors restless sleep. The Fitbit brand also provides an online interface that allows you to see your fitness progress and input your meals.

If you are a Fitness Freak, you probably know that it is recommended to get at least 10,000 steps per day. The first day that I wore my Fitbit I was shocked.  During a normal workday, I only take ~4,000 steps per day.  That is it.

Everything is so convenient at work.  There is a kitchen and bathroom on the floor that I work on.  Also 99% of the meetings that I go to are on this same floor.  There is really no need for me to go anywhere else in my building except for that one floor. I rarely leave the building during the day as I try to save money and pack my lunch everyday.  Basically I barely move at work.

You may be saying… “Kaye, quit being lazy and work out after work.”  I am going to be honest: the last thing I want to do after being at work for 9 – 11 hours a day is go to the gym.  All I want to do is eat dinner, craft, and watch my nightly TV addition.  Excuses, excuses, excuses.  I know.  Basically I just hate working out.

VS0NIWoutsource-exercise-lazy-wish-confession-ecards-someecards

So my goal for the month of April is to: Get 10,000 Steps Everyday.  I literally am not sure how I am going to accomplish this, but I sure am going to try.  I am off to a good start though, 10k steps yesterday and today!

photo 1

photo 2

One other thing about FitBit is that you can have your “Friends” follow you.   So if you have a Fitbit, look me up and see how I am doing!  Wish me luck, because I know that this is going to be a struggle!

Now for the lovely AMW: 

Do you ever say to yourself: “I want to do ________ but I ______”? Constantly, I think to myself how I want to do something but then I make an excuse. A year ago, I met a girl that was doing so many fun adventures and found out the reason why. She created a list for herself – 101 things to accomplish in 1001 days. From sky diving to posing nude for Playboy to traveling the country to trying out random foods to sleeping with 10 Italian men, she had all of these goals she set out to do that she needed to accomplish (some of these are false).

Recently, I turned 27 and decided that life is too short and I need to start living; thus, I created a 30 before 30 list. My list ranges from things like running a 5k every month for a year to asking a random guy out on a date to giving blood five times a year to going to a continent I have yet to travel to writing a handwritten letter to a different person every day for 30 days. If you’d like to see my list, visit this link on the Day Zero Project site.   Well, guess what fans of Kaye’s blog?! April is National Card and Letter Writing Month! I’ll be darned. This month, I’ll use one of my bestest friend’s stationary to write a letter every day for a month. If you want to hold me accountable, check back on May 1st, to see that this has been checked off of my list! And if you’re lucky, you’ll be one of the 30 that will receive an awesome letter from yours truly!

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on April 2, 2014 by in Pinot and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .