Paper, Planes & Pinot

In Other Words… Stationery, Travel, and All Else that Matters

Weekly Reads – 1.30.15

This past Monday I started taking an Adobe Illustrator class – Woo! This week’s class went over the basics which was prefect for me since I have not used the software before. One step closer to being able to digitize my calligraphy!

Illustrator Class 1.30.15

And for your viewing pleasure, here are some fun reads that I found this week:

For the past year or so I have been working hard to be on time. After moving to the ‘burbs I found that I was having trouble getting to social events on time. Most of my friends live closer to DC, so between the distance and the traffic it takes me a good amount of time to make the trek into the city. I found these reasons for being late on A Cup of Jo to be very true. Reading over these helped me identify some more ways to ensure that I am on time to events, and not on Filipino time (aka late).

I have been on an organizing kick lately. I have bought so many crafting and calligraphy supplies that storage boxes aren’t cutting it anymore. I need more ‘pretty’ organizers. I love the idea of this bucket organizer on Remodelaholic. Crafting up organizers for my crafting tools?! Yes please.

I feel like my fascination with floral arrangements is being amplified by the internet. Perhaps it is because I am more aware of it, but I feel like there are so many floral designs, floral stationery, and floral arranging tutorials swarming the internet. My fav tutorial this week was on Dream Green DIY. I love how there is a mix of different types of flowers, and how you just open up roses!  Another example of florals taking over my life… The Hunted Interior posted floral fabrics. I do not have a fabric project right now, but trust me, I am keeping this blog post bookmarked so that I can come back to it when needed.

I don’t know what it is, but I love using lanterns as décor. I have a few acting as book ends on my media center, and used to have some strung out on my balcony. Needless to say, I loved these outdoor lanterns on The Inspired Room. I also love the last picture of a lantern hung in place of a chandelier. Ideas, ideas.

I have really tried to make an effort to read more, because obviously I love books. Recently, I have done most of my reading in bed, but found that usually makes me sleepy. I dream of having a little reading nook. This reading nook renovation by Emily Henderson is adorable. The leather chair looks perfect to snuggle in with a book!

I am still dreaming about moving into a bigger place, and being able to have a coffee table again. It’s tough crafting in my living room. I basically have to pull up a stool, and use it as a tiny work table. Once we go back to having space for a coffee table, I will definitely reference these coffee table styling tips on Centsational Girl. I already have the ‘coffee table books’ covered, but I am going to need some cute flower vases!

The Super Bowl is this weekend, and Domaine Home has put together a list of some awesome recipes to serve. Seriously, my mouth is watering just looking at all these recipes!

I love red meat. No joke, a few years back a sorority sister and I bought Meat Week t-shirts that say “Eat. Meat. Repeat.” Well did you know Meat Week DC 2015 is actually going on RIGHT NOW? Yes… I do not lie. So celebrate Meat Week – Don’t know what to make? I found the perfect recipe for you: Tequila Flank Steak Tacos from Jillian Harris. And DUH you’ll need to make margaritas to wash down this Mexican dish. Try out this blood orange margarita recipes on Design Love Fest. Dinner is served… YUM!

I left ya’ll hanging last week, and didn’t dish out a hot chocolate recipe. I apologize, and am making up for it in a BIG way today. Check out these hot chocolate swirl buns on Handmade Charlotte. It is basically a hot chocolate cinnamon bun. DELISH!

And for those of you looking for something healthy, try out this Chocolate Mousse on Hello Natural. I have recently been on a kick using my Ninja blender every chance I get. I def want to try out this mousse for dessert one night – the beau will probably welcome this change from the chocolate banana smoothie that I have recently been obsessed with!

I am going to Vegas next month, and of course I plan on bringing over a couple sequin dresses. I did recently invest in a black jumpsuit, and A Little Dash of Darling has me convinced that I need to invest in a sequin blazer to wear with it. More sequin to add to my wardrobe!

Yes, the snow has been a little underwhelming after all the storm weather reports. Do not be mistaken though, it is still SO COLD out. Broke and Chic posted some tips for wearing winter layers in the office. I thought I had all the options covered, but thanks to this post, I have even more ways to stay warm in the office!  Even with the cold temps, my dedicated co-worker and I still take a walk around campus every afternoon. I recently got a black parka jacket for Christmas, but these goose parkas on The Budget Babe sure do look warm. A girl can never have too many coats right!?

Enough with this cold weather talk. What about pineapple talk? Pineapples always get me thinking about summer, and I am loving these pineapple prints on Luella & June.   I mean they just SCREAM summer!

And lastly…

Did you see that New York Times article about 36 questions that lead to love? Of course you did, it was everywhere. Well, Betches Love This posted their own version. Check. It. Out.

Enjoy your weekend!

Leave a Reply

