Paper, Planes & Pinot

In Other Words… Stationery, Travel, and All Else that Matters

Long Lasting Makeup

On a normal weekday, I spend around twelve hours away from home. An hour commuting (thirty minutes each way), nine hours at work, then a few hours doing any combination of working out, running errands, or meeting up with friends for dinner.

Twelve hours is a long time for makeup to last.

Do you think that I retouch my makeup during the day, or after I work out? Absolutely not. No way! Why?

  1. I am too lazy to apply makeup more than once a day.
  2. I do not need a reason to carry more things in my purse.
  3. I do not have enough money to purchase an extra set of makeup to tote around.

Over the years I have tried to figure out what makeup is best for lasting all day… and then some. After 5 years, I feel like I finally have the best solution. Before revealing my fix to you, let me go through some of my “Makeup History.”

All through college I used Bare Minerals and loved it. My skin felt awesome and although it was a little pricey, each container lasted a good amount of time… meaning that I only needed to replenish a few times a year.

Then I graduated and started a real job in the real world. This job involved me being in the office at least 8 hours a day. This was the point where I realized that I spoiled in college.

  • College life: Get ready for class. Go to class. Eat. Get ready to go out. Go out. Late night. Other things on the agenda?  Easy.  Swing by home in between going from one place to anther to re-touch.
  • Post-college life: Notice that after 4 hours of working that make-up is almost completely gone and you look like you just woke up. Then, look like death the rest of the day (including Happy Hour).

Around the time of my devastating realization my ah-maze-ing friend, Alice, suggested that I try out Urban Decay All-Nighter Setting Spray. She did not suggest I try it out because she used it and thought it was awesome. Nope.  She suggested that I try it out so that I could spend the money on it and decide if it was a worthwhile purchase for her.

It was. End of story. I still use this setting spray every day and refuse to leave home without it when I go on vacation.

Screen Shot 2014-10-20 at 7.35.00 PM

The packaging says that the setting spray should keep makeup in place for up to 16 hours. While this spray definitely helps makeup stay in place longer, I still noticed my makeup was fading before making it home after a long day.

So I continued to do some research and learned that primer could be the answer to my prayers. I experimented with the Bare Minerals primer, but I still wasn’t getting the ‘all day long lasting makeup’ effect.

After more research, I decided that I had to either break up with Bare Minerals OR get a extra set for me to bring to work to do touch-ups. For the 3 reasons previously listed above, I opted to end my relationship with Bare Minerals.

I tried a bunch of other makeup brands including Makeup Professional and Smashbox. I even tried the Makeup Professional and Smashbox primers when using their foundation thinking that the primer would hold the foundation better. Unfortunately, I still was not getting the solution that I wanted.

Eventually I tried, and decided to stick with, NARS. NARS seemed to have the best foundation and blush colors for my skin. But still, I could not find the perfect primer.

I continued to test out different primers.  I loved the way that the Hourglass primer and Benefit Porefessional felt on my skin. My skin felt very smooth and light. But once again, my make up was not making it all the way through to Happy Hour.

Enter: Benefit Stay Flawless Primer. I love this primer. This primer holds my foundation ALL DAY. If you prefer the light feeling of the Hourglass primer and Benefit Porefessional, Stay Flawless may not be the one for you. But if you want something to keep your makeup on longer, I definitely recommend Stay Flawless.

Screen Shot 2014-10-20 at 7.36.55 PM

You will feel this primer go on. It is not light by any means. You apply Stay Flawless, but wait rub it in until after you dab on your liquid foundation.  You will basically rub both the primer and foundation into your skin together. Then voilà! Your makeup is staying put!

Lastly, I decided to add NARS setting powder into my makeup routine. I chose to use the NARS brand setting powder since I use NARS foundation, and it works well. I suggest sticking to the setting powder of whatever brand of foundation you use.

Screen Shot 2014-10-20 at 7.38.15 PM

I do have ‘oily’ skin, so using a setting powder really helps me out during the day. If you do not have an oily skin type, you may not need to shell out the dough for a setting powder!

Now although I refer to the work day throughout this post, I wrote this for all you rage-ers out there too. I hope that these tips help your makeup stay on through all your bar hopping and club dancing!

BUT

For all you professionals – hopefully these tips help all of you on your long work days.  There is nothing better than getting to a Happy Hour still having your making look as fresh as it did in the morning!

One comment on “Long Lasting Makeup

  1. lookbeyondbeauty
    October 21, 2014

    Great products, I’m just looking for a new setting powder 🙂
    http://lookbeyondbeauty.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 21, 2014 by in Pinot and tagged , , , , , , , .
