Paper, Planes & Pinot

In Other Words… Stationery, Travel, and All Else that Matters

Cheers to the Red, White and Blue

I thought this week would be the perfect week for me to share a couple red, white and blue drinks.  Of course I endorse downing a patriotic cocktail anytime you want BUT this week you pretty much HAVE to cheers to the Red, White and Blue for the following reasons:

  1. The USA has made it to the Round of 16 for the World Cup, and we play TODAY
  2. This Friday is the day that we celebrate the USA’s Independence
  3. I LOVE AMERICA

Tons to celebrate, so let’s get started!

First up is a yummy wine spritzer.  I will not claim that this recipe is for is sangria since it is not.  Teaching moment:  Sangria has HARD LIQUOR in it.   Any “sangria recipe” that you read online that does not have liquor in it is a sham.  Don’t worry… I promise to share my favorite sangria recipe on this blog at a later date.

I digress… back to the wine spritzer recipe!

When hosting friends this wine spritzer is something that you can make on the fly!  It just has to be refrigerated for a couple hours (not overnight like sangria).  This spritzer is perfect for big parties or impromptu get togethers when the last thing you want to stress over is beverages.  It is not only SUPER easy to make, but it is also a HUGE crowd pleaser.

Red, White & Blue Wine Spritzer

2 750ml Bottles of White Wine
4 Cans of Sprite
1 Crate of Blueberries
1 Crate of Strawberries
1 Pineapple

Pour both bottles of wine and all cans of Sprite into pitcher. Add blueberries to the wine and Sprite mixture.  Cut each strawberry in half and add into the mixture.  To add a patriot touch to your wine spritzer slice pineapples into star shapes. Refrigerate for at least 2 hours.  Serve over ice.

IMG_0734

IMG_0739

Now I am not going to leave out the struggles that I ran into.  I will admit that on my 1st try I was only able to get 3 stars out of a whole pineapple.  I suggest using a star cookie cutter to try to get proportionate stars.

I was only able to make 3 stars from all of this.  Get the cookie cutter and save yourself the embarrassment.

6 slices got me 3 stars.  Try out the cookie cutter approach and hopefully you will have better luck!

Now for serving size.  I could probably finish the above sitting by the pool for a couple hours with my blog editor.  We could drink a bottle each, easily.  You’ll need to judge how much you need to serve for your group.  Sorry I have no concept of rationing wine.

Next up is a cocktail.  Again this is really easy to make, and perfect for entertaining!  This USA themed drink will please any flavored vodka lover.  I suggest using Blueberry flavored vodka, but feel free to use any flavor you like!

Berry Cocktail

Blueberry Vodka
Sprite
Blueberries
Raspberries

Create your cocktail by pouring 1 part vodka, and 2 parts Sprite over ice.  Add a handful of blue berries and a handful of raspberries.  Now… DRINK!

*The above makes a pretty strong drink.  If you are not a veteran drinker feel free to make your drink with 1 part vodka and 3 parts Sprite.  You have time to make it to the veteran status.

IMG_0732

For a firework kick, rim your glass with Pop Rocks before making your drink!

IMG_0727

IMG_0729

Getting the Pop Rocks to stick can be quite tricky.  I found using lime juice worked better than using water to get the candy to stick.

I hope everyone has a great week celebrating the USA!  Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 1, 2014 by in Pinot and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
